The Green Wiki and the rise of free media

The LearnX Awards were presented in Melbourne yesterday, and I’m proud to say that AMP won the Green Training Award for its Green Wiki.

Dianne Yaako and Ryan Tracey show off their Green Training Award

However, I’m not hyperlinking to the Green Wiki for two reasons:

  1. It’s on the corporate network, and
  2. Everyone knows what a wiki looks like. (If you don’t, look up Wikipedia or Wetpaint.)

I think the following cartoon by Hugh MacLeod sums up my second point perfectly…

It's not what the software does. It's what the user does.

In this particular case, our employees are using wiki software to share tips on how to reduce our carbon footprint in the workplace, collaboratively making our company a better corporate citizen.

Notice I said “employees”, not a “task force” or a “strategic working group” or a “steering committee”. Just regular employees like you and me.

And all because someone on the floor decided one day to put the wiki together – talk about democratising the workplace!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.