Taking out the trash

Happy new year!

I’m looking forward to 2015 as a time for exploring, building, experimenting, discovering, and learning.

Many of us like to make New Year’s resolutions in January – which rarely survive February – but this year mine are designed to last forever.

I hereby commit to the following five resolutions.

A green plastic trash bin.

1. No facey, no connecty.

Humans have heads and names. If you apparently don’t, I won’t connect.

2. Reject the hard sell.

If your first message to me is sales oriented, you’re dropped.

3. Do not feed the trolls.

If you lack an open and collaborative mindset, I won’t engage.

4. Do not feed the bullies.

Bully-boy tactics do not lend credence to your argument; in fact they do the opposite. If you try to force feed me, the conversation is over.

5. Shut the pop up.

If a pop-up interrupts my reading of your article, I won’t bother quitting the pop-up. I’ll just quit your article.

Apologies if this seems like a negative way to begin the new year. However, by taking out the trash, I intend to let the light shine in.

What are your New Year’s resolutions…?

8 thoughts on “Taking out the trash

  1. Ryan,

    I love it and am adopting them as my rule of thumb for the year.

    I would add that if you havent taken the time to fill out your profile or give me some information about you before you try and connect then it is not going to happen

  2. I’m liking your resolutions Ryan.

    A few of mine along those lines:

    – If I have to login to read an article, closing it and never returning.

    – If I have to click a link to get to another page of an article, I won’t, it stops there, I’m not reading a newspaper.

    – I’m not clicking linkis links, it’s a webpage I want to click on, not another “service” to reroute traffic.

    There are many others that I can’t think of along those lines but you get the gist :-)

  3. Great resolutions Ryan.

    I can particularly relate to #1 and #3.

    My pet hate is those who hide behind generic avatars attached to their profiles, or who just can’t be bothered uploading a face to their name.

    I also seek out those with an open mind and collaborative mindset and tend to avoid those who don’t have this.

  4. Indeed Dianne, a pattern I have noticed is those with anonymous avatars are often rude etc. Of course that’s not to say that *everyone* with an anonymous avatar is a troll, but alas many are. Courage behind the keyboard.

    I’m looking forward to collaborating with you this year!

  5. I’m amused that one of the people who has liked your post has no face! I must put a face on my Meetup profile – sigh, so many profiles… Keeping up is almost as hard as remembering all your passwords and pin codes. I guess this is an advantage of apps that link to a reusable profile like your Google or gravatar.

  6. Ah yes, that’s Dianne’s logo for one of her projects. I know what you mean about multiple profiles… keeping your mugshot handy helps :0)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.